UAE: Trade balances hold steady, arms deals mount up

Risk Management
Issue 1051 - 11 Jan 2018 | 4 minute read

Politics: Established in 1971, the federation of seven emirates – Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras Al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm Al-Quwain is economically liberal and progressive, but politically conservative. Control is held by emirate rulers, led by oil-rich, politically savvy Abu Dhabi and commercial hub Dubai. The federal government’s legislative and executive jurisdiction cover foreign affairs, security, defence, education, health, currency, electricity and immigration. Emirates retain considerable economic independence and control over mineral rights and revenues.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to Gulf States Newsletter

View subscription options

Join our community

Sign up for an account to gain:

  • Set up news alerts on the countries and sectors that matter to you.
  • Free access to newsletter articles under 100 words.
  • Free access to GSN View articles articles.

View a selection of Free articles

Explore subscription options

Follow us on Google News